Photography

Additional Asakusa

I usually process a group of photos from a particular day I went shooting, then pick my favorites and post them. These 2 shots taken from Asakusa kind of appeal to me enough to keep from putting them into my un-posted archive. There is something about the way that the Nikon 70-200 renders bokeh that I just love. Most of the 80-200 variants render bokeh in the same pleasing way. Pretty much the biggest reason why I have no desire to pick up an 85 f1.4D as I don’t need the extra speed and that is a lot of money for a slightly smoother bokeh look. Interestingly, the new 85 f1.4G lens produces busy bokeh that reminds me of my 50 f1.8, which I don’t really like that much. I have had thought about the Rokinon 85 f1.4 since it is about $250 and has a really unique look it produces, but more appealing to me would be using a lens reverser and some extension tubes for a killer macro lens.

Tokyo-8479

Awe

2 responses

  1. herby

    I love the atmosphere in these photos. I like the way you have the focus on the man in the first photo with everything else blurred out. It gives me the impression of a school boy lost in a sea of adults.

    I love the way the people in the second image catch my eye as the focus despite their focus (esp the guy with the camera) on the lantern thing.

    Thank you for sharing your photos. They are always a joy 🙂

    25 October, 2010 at 7:36 pm

  2. Thank you very much for you compliments Herby!

    27 October, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Leave a Reply

