Genbaku Dome

After Kyoto, we arrived in Hiroshima via the Tōkaidō Shinkansen; the first site we had to go to after checking our bags into the hotel was the Genbaku Dome, otherwise known as the Atomic Bomb Dome. The actual dome was 490ft away from the point of detonation excluding the 1,968 feet above the ground were the bomb known as “Little Boy” was detonated. Ever since that fateful day on August 6, 1945, the shrine has been left almost completely in its’ original state to serve as a memorial to those who died. I was amazed that a building built in April 1915 would even possibly be standing after such an event. You can see that the cracks in the building and the exposed edges have been sealed, but little else has been done.

Genbaku Dome

3 thoughts on “Genbaku Dome

  1. Wow, this is an amazing take on this building! I went to Hiroshima and Miyajima during Golden Week, but my pictures aren’t as nice as yours! Do you use HDR, and if so, do you base it off of just one RAW image or 3 (or more) JPEGs? Thank, and great work! It’s very inspiring!
    ~Molly

  2. Thank you both for the comments! This is indeed quite a site to see. I am glad I was able to see it.

    Molly- I do a lot of HDR, and a bit more DRI lately (Photomatix calls it “Exposure Blending”). I always use 3-5 shots. I used to just tonemap single exposures to get a bit of an HDR look, but my tastes have changed since then and I don’t necessarily like that.

    For this image, I created an HDR in Photomatix, then I took the middle exposure and I adjusted it in Lightroom. Really made it darker, added a lot of vignetting. Then I layered the HDR and the Lightroom version in Photoshop and selectively erased the dark layer on top to allow the HDR part of the building show through the picture.

    I find I make multiple version of the same photograph and paint the parts through that I really like, just about every time I HDR or DRI a shot.

    Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

