Photography

Türkiye

Here is another post with some pictures from my archive dating back to my time spent living in Turkey for a year and a half from late 05-07. Turkey is a country I absolutely fell in love with. It is also were I met and fell in love with my wife. We traveled all over this country during our time there and were continually taken aback at how diverse the geography of this country is and the amount of historical sites and relics spread throughout. The people are the most hospitable bunch I have ever come across and the food.. Kebabs, ekmek, and sahlep. Have I said anything about a long soak in a Turkish hamam (bath) yet?

This first picture was taken with my first digital camera I have ever owned, the Canon A80, one that is still going strong. This is Anamur Kalasi (Castle) which was started by the Romans in the 3rd century. This was one of the best preserved castles of the many that we visited and it sits right on the coast of the Mediterranean Sea nearby the resort city of Alanya.

Anamur Kalesi Tone Mapped

This picture is from the top of 7,001 ft Mt. Nemrut. The actual peak is about 60 ft above these statues and behind them out of the frame of this picture are the stone bodies that these heads have since separated from over time. It is believed to have been built around 62 BC, but relatively little is known about the origins of this site. This was taken with my Panasonic DMC FX-01 which was a pretty lousy camera for anything but bright conditions.

Mt. Nemrut Sunrise

I will be posting a few more pictures from my Turkey archives in the future and if all goes well, I will be back in Turkey in a little over a year from now for another year of exploration; this time with a real drive to capture the amazing sites and scenery with my improved photographic drive and knowledge.

3 responses

  1. Ah, to be able to re-shoot with what we know now.

    These are both excellent photos, though. I love them both, especially considering my history background. Turkey is probably the birthplace of urbanization.

    28 March, 2009 at 11:58 pm

  2. Clint

    Thanks for the compliments!

    I have to admit that I am largely ignorant of history in that area and I need to fix that before I go back. I love that subject and it only makes visiting these sites even more interesting. It is pretty common though, that not much is known about entire towns or castles in Turkey because of how old they are.

    29 March, 2009 at 8:12 am

  3. I love the castle photo, and to have really been there would be just amazing!

    3 April, 2009 at 5:28 am

Leave a Reply

