Photography

The Real Deal

We took a trip to Krabi, Thailand back in Nov/Dec ’07 and let me tell you… That place is the real deal paradise if you are a fan of oceans, beautiful scenery, and warm weather. Krabi was the perfect hub to cheaply charter a long boat to many of the different islands and beaches, many of which were relatively devoid of crowds. Krabi seemed like a good alternative from the very crowded cities of Bangkok and Pataya, and we were never once bothered by lady boys or sex trade workers, which is always a plus in my book!

I finally earned my PADI diving certification so I could dive with wifey on future trips. I highly recommend Krabi Divers if you are in the area. Great price, very friendly staff, and brand new gear. The Andaman Sea had extremely clear water and plenty of diverse sea life to watch. It ended up being a lot more fun than I thought it would be.

This trip was the reason I purchased a DSLR and became really interested in photography as a hobby. My newer Panasonic DMC-FX01 was a noise factory and ended up getting a ton of dust in the sensor along the way. This was highly frustrating for me and after seeing pictures from a friends D80 at work in France, I was done with sub-par point and shoot cameras.

This is one of the few shots that came out okay; the rest need tons of work to repair, and I wasn’t really thinking beyond snapshots at the time anyways.

Long Boat in Thailand

Leave a Reply

