Spiders? No!

Since I have been in Japan I have been viciously attacked by spiders 3 times! I am pretty sure they are out to get me and I think their aggression is completely unwarranted. I can’t even remember the last time I smashed a spider…

Showa-2

This is a Golden Silk Orb-weaver spider and they are famous for their golden colored webs and the size of webs they create. They are the largest webs in the world. They plaster them all over the biking trails here, so whoever is in front gets to break trough their web and end up with these guys on your body. So far I have had one get inside my helmet while riding a bike.

Showa-9

From what I have read, they are pretty mild manner spiders which is good because their bite is similar to a Black Widow’s, although the pain typically subsides after a day. These two spiders are actually little guys compared to others in their species that we have come across.

2 thoughts on “Spiders? No!

  1. Huh, I’ve been told they are harmless and now it turns out not to be the case? Now I am scared. They are everywhere here and the webs are not exactly fragile either…

  2. Pingback: Kamakura part two - Kencho-ji « Veronika Brazdova’s Blog

Leave a Reply

