50mm 1.8D :)

A couple of months ago I purchased a classic lens for my Nikon DSLR’s called the Nikkor 50mm 1.8D or “Nifty Fifty” as the legend is known. My D40 lacks built in auto focus so you have to manually focus this lens, but for barely over 1 bill, how could I pass it up?

Tachikawa Bicycle Park, my favorite photo so far-
Tachikawa Bicycle Park

With such a large aperture it can sometimes be very difficult to get your subject in focus, I think get my focus correct in about 1 out of 5 photos when I am below f2. I need more practice!

Train ride leaving Kawasaki-
Kawasaki Train

I apply tone mapping to a lot of my photos in an awesome program called Photomatix. Photomatix can really bring out the color in a photo and does a great job of creating HDR images as well. A lot of people do not like tone mapping and HDR, but I personally love the look.

At the Kawasaki Penis Festival-
Fertility Dragon

Leave a Reply

