Photography

Bear Butte

Boy do I have a crazy job.. I worked one hour last month, but stayed on call and made full wages. This month I have worked 1 hour, but basically not on call, just prepared to work within 48 hours of notification if things suddenly get real busy around here. So we have been taking a few trips to here and there and remodeling our house, mostly painting every square inch of it. Last week we did a little backpacking in the Black Hills and also took a trip to Bear Butte.

In the background is Bear Butte and that is Bear Butte Lake in the foreground. It is basically a few minutes out of Sturgis, SD. You should have seen the view 10 minutes before I took this shot when the sun was not behind the clouds! Oh well, still kind of pretty.

The rain follows me whenever I dare sleep in a tent, and the night we spent at the lake was no exception. Luckily, despite a terrible forecast, the weather held out for us to quick climb the Butte, mostly scouting the paragliding possibilities, which look to be beyond my abilities and I would guess not allowed anyways. Here is the view towards the Black Hills. It is a stitched pano and the grass and trees look kind of harsh and I cannot figure out why. Oh well.

And here is the view from the other side, which I think is looking towards the nothingness of North Dakota? I guess the butte is sacred for the local Indians, so they tie up a pinch of tobacco into a bit of cloth and hang them in trees, everywhere. I personally think it looks pretty trashy to see that hanging from the few trees that remain on the mountains, but it is still a neat spot to visit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.