Photography

Snag

We are leaving for 2 nights in Savannah early tomorrow morning. That doesn’t allow us much time for exploring, but we’ll take what we can get! I give you a couple of snags taken on the East Rim Trail at Zion National Park. These are all single exposures taken in the middle of the day thanks to the polarizer I bought for the 16-35VR. I am not completely sold on using a polarizer on a wide angle, though. I think the sky looks just about as unnatural as your average HDR or DRI shot, but I also have a ton of shots where parts of the sky are so dark compared to the rest of the shot, that I cannot even figure out how to even it out and have it still look natural in post. I am tempted to stick with my 14-24 and sell off the 16-35, then just build my own filter holder for the 14-24 so I can at least use square graduated density filters.

Zion-392

Zion-447

Snag

Snagggg

2 responses

  1. 16-35 ? why not go for the 24-70 ??? is the 16-35 better ?? Let me know what you think :)

    11 September, 2010 at 5:25 am

  2. I think the 24-70 is a great lens, but that range is not something that I shoot very often. I much prefer the wide end of things. If I was shooting in the studio, I think I would for sure grab a 24-70 though.

    14 September, 2010 at 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.