Photography

Torii Medlii

These Torii can be really difficult to photograph in the middle of the day with the bright sun overhead reflecting off of every odd curve down the entire row. I was trying every angle I could think of and it suddenly became obvious how extremely small changes in your position would completely change the way they lined up. This one was my favorite due to the tight grouping without large gaps that would expose super bright sunlight reflections. I still needed the help of HDR to reign in the dynamic range, but I am finally happy with one of the many shots I had taken this day. I still want to go back and try again with a tripod… Looks like I will be doing that at the end of February.. Another 2 months in Japan and back with my wife for me!

Torii Medlii

6 responses

  1. I love the light in this shot. It is very peaceful.

    22 January, 2010 at 6:51 am

  2. Two huge thumbs up for this one. Sublimely good. I think I’ve found my new desktop wallpaper..

    22 January, 2010 at 9:21 am

  3. chloe

    i love the focus & composition, also the soft lighting & colours

    27 January, 2010 at 4:22 pm

  4. emzoler

    Wow, at first sight I didn’t like it but then I somehow got captivated by it, am not sure what it is, the light, the bokeh, the focus etc it’s a great shot! Well done.

    3 February, 2010 at 6:18 am

  5. Thank you! It is a bit jarring at first, it had to grow on me as well!

    6 February, 2010 at 5:39 pm

  6. belenolsen

    Very nice composition

    9 February, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.