Photography

Erciyes Dağı Yeni Yıl

Took a little New Years break ski trip up north to Mt. Erciyes, a big 3,916 metre stratovolcano that can be seen from Cappadocia. When we arrived at night, it was extremely bright out due to the full moon, which I hear was a blue moon. Me and one of my friends eschewed the New Years festivities at the deluxe hotel that we had booked and decided to enjoy the blisteringly cold night air with our cameras.

Erciyes Dağı

I pulled out my handy LED key chain light to graffiti the mountain with a New Years declaration about some girl I know named Amber who should have been there to partake in the lovely wind chill with her husband!

New Years Declaration

These long exposures were really fun to play around with my flash as well. Me and my friend would hold my SB-600 flash and fire off the test flash a couple of times at each other while strategically hiding the flash unit from view of the camera to create some neat effects. Too bad my retarded ass kept moving around between flashes so that I look like a fragmented apparition!

Erciyes Dağı-2980

Combined, neither me or my friend had enough common sense to at least dress up warm enough to stay out in the cold for very long, a damn shame because the views were simply amazing. After about an hour and a half, our tennis shoes became the weakest link and we had to quick pack everything up and head back to a warm car to try and regain feeling in our feet. While packing up we noticed our gear was extremely frosted over.

D90 Stress Test

Modern gear is pretty damn awesome though; it all kept working so well, we had no idea it was all coated with frost until I happened to shine my LED on it. I think we were too preoccupied running in place and hopping around in circles like Indians for warmth! We headed out again the following night since this night was so amazing, but the 2nd time was so windy that we could not steady our tripods enough to take any sharp shots with such long exposures. I guess I’ll just have to go back again!

Frosty the Tripod

3 responses

  1. olliegapper

    damn thats crazy. I almost cried when i got a little sprinkle of snow on my d90. I would have cacked myself at that sight.

    8 January, 2010 at 11:36 pm

  2. Well we both have good insurance to cover accidents no matter how dumb the owner of the equipment is, so that feels a lot better. We wished we could have stayed out longer to let it get more iced over for better pictures!

    9 January, 2010 at 11:05 pm

  3. chloe

    my friend michael over at burstmode suggested i come visit your blog & take a special look at your light painting photographs
    these are awesome i had my first attempt at light painting the other day, it was quite difficult to say the least lol

    22 January, 2010 at 7:52 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.