Photography

The Legend

What can you say about the Great Wall that has not already been said? I can really only give you some facts about this section and let you know that some things in life are so talked up into this mythical stature that there is just no way they can live up to the hype. The Great Wall, however, this exceeded the hype and was everything and more that I thought it would be. Constructed in 1570, this section of Jinshanling is 10.5 km long and ended at the Simatai section of the wall. As we were passing all 69 towers and 5 passes during the hike, I realized that I could not slow time down enough to make this last long enough to finally come to grips with the magnitude of such an undertaking, during a time when a pulley was about the only invention that could help lighten the load from the tallest order ever undertaken in human history.

I always thought that making the 6,400 km journey to traverse the majority of the wall would be fun, and now I know it would be necessary to truly appreciate everything that it is. Needless to say, I really enjoyed our day at the wall, but it was much, much to short and only left me with one of those feelings in the back of my mind that tells me that 15 days in China is just not going to cut it. Eventually, I will need to find an excuse to get back there.

I have to give my wife Amber some credit here. This was her shot. I processed the RAW file for her, but she was all over this wall with her D40 in tow. Excelllllllent!

The Legend

One response

  1. This is nicely done, the wall fills the frame. I can understand your interest and the photo only whets one’s appetite for more.

    29 May, 2009 at 3:34 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.