Photography

Macaca Fuscata

Well here are a few pictures that I have processed so far. I have never used a DSLR with snow in the background so I read up on how to get the best results. Most people recommended overexposing by 3 to 4 stops to make sure the snow is actually white. Maybe that is good advice when the entire frame is filled with snow, but I seem to need to do a lot of work to recover the blown highlights.

Little Guy

Seeing these Macaque monkeys was by far the coolest thing we have done in Japan so far. We are both enthralled by monkeys in the first place, and these little guys just are way too personable to only see once. The little babies definitely break the cute meter. We have already submitted reservations for a night in the ryokan located in the monkey park. I’ll be posting a lot more pictures in the next few days!

Timid

3 responses

  1. Just wonderful! Going to see the bathing apes is one thing I’ve still not managed to do in my 15 years here. You’ve inspired me to get it on the calendar for next winter.

    Snow is so hard to photograph on, especially when it’s overcast. You’ve done a great job not blowing out the highlights or plunging everything into gloom on these. Looking forward to seeing more..

    19 January, 2009 at 4:20 pm

  2. Clint

    Thanks for the comment. I hope you get a chance to see these guys.

    I switched my camera to color mode III instead of I and I like the results a lot more. Your photos seem to look the way they should so I am thinking yours is set to III as well?

    You should see my photos in Lightroom. The highlights look like they are nuked beyond repair. Somehow the details in the snow come back with a lot of adjustments. Do you find your D80 exposure meter seems to read about 3 steps brighter than where it should be? And when you shoot snow, how are you setting your exposures? You definitely seem to have conquered photographing snow.

    19 January, 2009 at 4:29 pm

  3. Yes, I’m using color mode III – basically I have my camera set up pretty much according to Ken Rockwell’s guide.

    The D80 definitely has a wonky exposure meter. Most of the time I set it 0.3 or 0.7 below “neutral”, and while the sometimes means a bit of a dark shot, at least I can lighten it afterwards manually. I found setting the exposure meter to center-weighted helps a bit. On snow, I just point, shoot, check the result, adjust, point, shoot, pray…

    22 January, 2009 at 10:15 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.